The Story Of How We Met

Early in 2006, two people sent me a link to the Sovereign Grace Singles web site.

First my pastor sent me a link, and then my daddy sent it.

My initial reaction was, “Are you kidding me?” but the fact that both my pastor and my daddy sent it to me sparked my interest. So, I followed the link. I browsed for a few minutes and moved on to other things. Somehow I started a habit of “browsing” SGS a few times a month. That sounds terrible doesn’t it? But it’s the truth.*shrug*

I was quite sure that I wouldn’t resort to advertising myself in such a way on the Internet. It was something I considered that I might do possibly when I’m in my 30s if I’m still single at that time. I’m glad that God had other plans. 🙂

In July of 2006, I was given credit for a 6 month membership to SGS. So, I signed up and filled out my profile. (While all along, believing that I wouldn’t leave it there more than a week.)

I found that SGS is more than a place to find a spouse. SGS is a Christian community that fosters friendship, encouragement, edification, and spiritual growth flowing from the interaction with other Reformed Christian Singles all over the world. I highly recommend it. 😉 I have met so many great people on there and Dean (founder of SGS) has developed many tools such as a live chat room and a discussion and prayer forum. Also posted on the site are many resources and articles. Some of the members have started book reading clubs using the live chat room. I can tell you from experience that the reading times are so much fun and beneficial.

A group of us had just started a new book in January 2008, that’s when things changed for me on SGS.

Dan signed up onto SGS January 3rd and sent me a message saying that he thought it was possible we had met once before. Yes indeed! Just a little over four years ago I had visited Geneva RP Church in Beaver Falls, PA when I was there for an RP Mission meeting. Wow! This guy remembered me!

I invited Dan to join our book group, (It was very convenient that we were starting a new book). He eagerly joined the group… and continued to send me Instant Messages… I continued to respond. 😉

We talked about all kinds of things. We found (with delight) that we’re on the same page concerning nearly everything doctrinally. In fact, we have yet to find something we disagree on, (Well, anything of major importance that is.) We’ve even tried to find something to disagree on! 🙂

Something that I’m so thankful for, is that we’ve sought to give God the glory in our relationship, we’ve been praying together right from the start. We’re so thankful that God has brought us together. We’re thankful for His timing in our lives, for He knows best. We’re thankful for the journey that God has brought each of us through, preparing us for a life together serving Him. God is so good!

Our first date was January 19th. We went to a coffee shop and talked for close to 5 hours, then we talked for another hour before Dan went home. We’ve been blessed to have the opportunity to see each other every week since then.

March 15, Dan asked me to marry him, and I said “Yes!” 😀

We are planning the wedding for September 27th, 2008.

Leave a comment

Filed under engagement, wedding

Leave a Reply

